December 28, 2005

Granite Digital Firewire Case

Posted in Mac OS X at 12:07 pm by intermediatemacintosh

I’ve been having troubles with a new drive on the Granite Digital Fireware 400 Hot Swap case. Recently the drive appeared to be failing, and Disk Warrior would fail trying to rebuild the directory.
So I got a couple of WiebeTech Firewire 400 enclosures, and moved the drives over there, and the drives worked fine.
Now I’m thinking of how to prove the Granite products are failing, and I surf over to their web site.
http://www.granitedigital.com/support/index.htm
Lo and behold, they have a software patch for Mac OS X Tiger for drives greater than 120 gigs. My new drive is 160 gigs, while all my previous drives were 80 gigs. Now I also had problems with one of the 80 gig drives – I think. So I’m not out of the woods yet.

Leave a Reply

