April 12, 2005

DarwinPorts

Posted in Mac OS X at 12:07 pm by intermediatemacintosh

DarwinPorts is a system administrator utility to get open source packages installed on Mac OS X. It has the same basic purpose as Fink, but is coming from the BSD direction, instead of Linux. In theory, the people at DarwinPorts and Fink have done all the hard work, and all I need to do is run a couple of simple commands. In fact, there are even GUI’s available for both packages. DPGUI operates DarwinPorts, while Fink Commander can control Fink.
DarwinPorts has a package style installer, and that went smoothly enough for me. The top of the Read Me file says,
Make sure to add /opt/local/bin to your $PATH and you can use commands like
“port list”, “port search” and “port install” to list, search for and install ports.
Use “sudo port selfupdate” to synchronize with the latest DP sources.
I understand $PATH, but my first question is – do I do that on my user account, or the root account or both ? Since it does not say anything about root, and since I’m supposed to be using SUDO for root access, I’d better stick with just my own personal account, which does have administrative privileges.
I noticed the DarwinPorts installer mentioned three paths to modify.
PATH /opt/local/bin
MANPATH /opt/local/share/man
INFOPATH /opt/local/share/info
I decide that it’s my .profile file that needs modifying, despite the fact that the only line it contains is
. /sw/bin/init.sh
I would have put that line in there when installing Fink. And I was expecting to see some other lines with $PATH, however …
Maybe I better flip over to one of my Linux servers, and see if I can refresh my memory on how local user’s shells get started. Well, I’ve got PATH commands in my Linux .profile scripts. Looks like this.
PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin/X11
export PATH
And here’s one for a regular user
PATH=~/bin:”${PATH}
I skip over this section and install the DPGUI tool. I fire up PortView, and it installs rsnapshot for me. I check the /opt/local/bin directory, and there it is. So far, I don’t know what I’m doing, but it’s working.
Although my CPU usage is out of this world, running 4 jobs called
624 ?? R 2:16.62 /usr/bin/tclsh /opt/local/bin/port list
625 ?? R 2:12.90 /usr/bin/tclsh /opt/local/bin/port installed
628 ?? R 2:01.26 /usr/bin/tclsh /opt/local/bin/port search rsnapshot
1449 ?? R 1:51.92 /usr/bin/tclsh /opt/local/bin/port installed
I quit the PortView application, but the jobs keep running. I kill those PID’s and cpu usage returns to normal.
Now, back to the question of where to get the extra PATH installed at. Let me do some research for a couple of minutes.
I should probably remove the fink install script, since I don’t think I’m using anything from Fink. But first, let me try this.
PATH=${PATH}:/opt/local/bin
Then rsnapshot – V
returns
rsnapshot 1.2.0
Usage: rsnapshot [-vtxqVD] [-c cfgfile] <interval>|configtest|du|help|version
Type “rsnapshot help” or “man rsnapshot” for more information.

Leave a Reply

